If you found this content anywhere else apart from http://nocturnalbookreviews.blogspot.com/ it's being used by a content scraper. Please consider using the link above and subscribing to my blog Nocturnal Book Reviews directly. Thank you!


TO COMMENT ON A POST PLEASE JUST PRESS THE POST TITLE. THANK YOU!

I'm using IntenseDebate which doesn't show up if you browse home page. The comments are visible on individual posts.


Paranormal Fantasy Early Review: Midnight Labyrinth by Elizabeth Hunter

Midnight Labyrinth by Elizabeth Hunter (Elemental Legacy #4)


ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
He’s one human caught in a tangled maze of theft, politics, magic, and blood.
 In other words, it’s just another night.


Benjamin Vecchio escaped a chaotic childhood and grew to adulthood under the protection and training of one of the Elemental world’s most feared vampire assassins. He’s traveled the world and battled immortal enemies.


But everyone has to go home sometime.


New York means new opportunities and allies for Ben and his vampire partner, Tenzin. It also means new politics and new threats. Their antiquities business is taking off, and their client list is growing. When Ben is challenged to find a painting lost since the second world war, he jumps at the chance. This job will keep him closer to home, but it might just land him in hot water with the insular clan of earth vampires who run Manhattan.


Tenzin knew the painting would be trouble before she laid eyes on it, but she can’t deny the challenge intrigues her. Human laws mean little to a vampire with a few millennia behind her, and Tenzin misses the rush of taking what isn’t hers.


But nothing is more dangerous than a human with half the story, and Ben and Tenzin might end up risking their reputations and their lives before they escape the Midnight Labyrinth.


MIDNIGHT LABYRINTH is the first book in an all new contemporary fantasy series by Elizabeth Hunter, author of the Elemental Mysteries and the Irin Chronicles


Release date: November 7, 2017.

Amazon kindle US/UK

9/10

* * *

I knew, I just knew that a full-size novel with Ben and Tenzin in it would be a riot.

These two are a perfect combination of warm familiarity and ridiculous amounts of snappy dialogues between a cranky, antisocial vampire legend and a charming, quick-witted and too curious for his own good human.

Friday Mini-Reviews #107 Erotic Romance Edition: Tiffany Reisz, Lydia Michaels and Allyson Young & Alisha Rai



Michael's Wings by Tiffany Reisz (The Original Sinners #6.3)

egalley thanks to 8th Circle Press

Synopsis from Goodreads
Griffin has just popped the question—yes, that question—and Michael doesn’t have an answer. He flees town for New Orleans to see his confidante and sometime-Domme, Mistress Nora. Will a weekend of beignets and beatings help him untangle his knotted-up heart?

Thus begins Michael's Wings, the eponymous novella that kicks off the latest entry in Tiffany Reisz's LAMBDA Literary Award-winning* Original Sinners series.

This companion collection to fan-favorite The Angel also contains six previously-published stories starring Mistress Nora's favorite angel and Griffin—his master, his true love, and the sexy-as-hell bane of Michael's existence.


Release date: November 7, 2017.

Amazon kindle US/UK

7.5/10

Michael's Wings is about Griffin popping the question to Mike who is freaking out about it.
 

Griffin in Wonderland describes Griffin and Kingsley crossing paths for the first time, which was the making of Griffin as we know him.
 

Gauze talks about Michael's accident and how him and Griffin deal with the trauma.
 

The Theory of the Moment describes Griffin and Melissa, Michael's mom meeting and conversation.
 

The Couch talks about the boys first serious argument with some naughty and wise advise from Nora.
 

A Better Distraction is about Griffin trying to let Michael study with mixed results.

Finally, Christmas in Suite 37A describes couple reconciling after a long break.

Bottom line, this is a sweet and totally adorable collection of everyday and pivotal moments in Griffin and Michael's life with Nora's subtle coaching in between. Loved it, recommended to all the fans.



* * *

"Крылья Майкла" о том, как Гриффин просит руки Майкла.

"Гриффин в Стране Чудес" рассказывает о встрече Гриффина с Кингсли, когда Кинг ставит нашего золотого мальчика на правильный путь.

"Марля" - о несчастном случае Майкла и о том, как он с Гриффином справляются с травмой.

"Теория Момента" - о милейшей встрече Гриффина с Мелиссой и их разговоре о ее сыне, Майкле.

"Диван" - о первой большой ссоре между ребятами и лукавом совете от Норы .

"Отвлечение Получше" - о попытке Гриффина оставить Майка заниматься уроками, и что из этого выходит.

И наконец, "Рождество в Номере 37А" - о примирении пары после долгой разлуки.

Если подытожить, то это - очаровательная коллекция историй о бытовых и важных моментов из жизни пары, с незаметным курированием от Норы. Советую всем фанатам автора.  




Forfeit by Lydia Michaels and Allyson Young (Degrees of Separation #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

The debut novel of a masterfully emotional, high stakes trilogy that will have readers forfeiting tradition to gamble with love…

December and Austin have a traditional, storybook marriage complete with defined roles. Married young, they’ve shared nearly a decade of passion and love. December’s submissive nature is perfectly suited for her husband’s authoritative, yet adoring personality and he seamlessly holds the indisputable role of head of the household.

But Austin harbors secrets, and the pressure of losing his job makes those festering skeletons impossible to ignore.

Turning to alcohol instead of his wife, Austin finally drives December into the arms of their closest friend, Cord, despite her intense loyalty. Cord has loved December since the day they met. His moral compass is challenged and lines are blurred when Austin steps aside and insists Cord take his place.

Forfeiting all, Austin must face a harsh truth. Take control of his life, or forever lose the woman he loves.


WARNING: This book contains subject matter suitable for mature reading audiences. Some content may be offensive to sensitive readers. Degrees of Separation is a ménage trilogy with many emotionally graphic encounters and challenging situations that break the rules of traditional romance.


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

6/10

On one hand, I have all the sympathy for the main heroine. Girl, I've been there, done that, got a t-shirt. December herself is a sweet and kind soul. I instantly liked her. Cord was a typical hero material, and I enjoyed him as well. Austin was a typical alcoholic unable to get over his failures and major wounds to his ego.

What infuriated me was this complete lack of understanding of how to deal with alcoholism. Come on, guys! Have you heard of googling it? If my spouse or loved one had it, I'd sure as hell research everything I could to help them out. Telling someone to pull yourself together and stop doesn't cut it. That person can DIE from following such advice. You need medical help and supervision. Ugh! So, I don't recommend this book for this reason and probably won't bother reading the rest.
* * *
 С одной стороны, я испытываю симпатию к главной героине. Я там был, мед, пиво пил и футболку получил. Декабрь - милая женщина, добрая и светлая. Да и Корд - лучший друг ее муж, герой, которого легко полюбить. Остин - типичный запойный алкоголик, потерявший работу и запивший, не в состоянии смриться с неудачей из-за своей гордыни.

Что довело меня до белого каления - это наивная вера Декабрь и Корда в то, что Остину надо просто собраться волей, бросить пить и привести себя в порядок. Ну, ребята, погуглите вы алкоголизм! Если он последует вот такому совету, он и умереть может! Ему нужна в начале медицинская помощь и наблюдение, чтобы высохнуть. Вот идиоты! Из-за этого продолжение прям читать не хочу.



Glutton for Pleasure by Alisha Rai (Pleasure #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
They’re craving something sweet. She likes it spicy.
 
Devi Malik knows how to heat things up. She does it every night as head chef in her family’s Indian restaurant. Her love life, though, is stuck in the subzero freezer. Now, with a chance to fulfill a secret fantasy with her long-time crush and his brother, it’s time to put her desire on the front two burners.
 
For Marcus Callahan, a love-’em-and-leave-’em attitude isn’t only a necessary evil of their kink. It’s a protective device. Lately, though, his brother Jace has been making noises about craving something more.
 
Jace’s dissatisfaction with their lifestyle grows with every glimpse of sweet little Devi. Yet Marcus is too haunted by the pain of their shared past to give love a chance.
 
Despite their reputation for vanishing with the dawn, they discover one night with Devi isn’t nearly enough. And Devi finds herself falling in love with two very different men.
 
It’ll take more than explosive sex to light up the shadows surrounding the Callahan brothers’ secrets. But Devi’s never been afraid of the dark…


Warning: This title contains two sizzling men for the price of one, ménage a trois, oral sex, anal sex, fun toys, great food, and creative uses for syrup and dressing rooms.


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

6/10

I freaking loved Alisha Rai's latest, so I thought I'd go through her backlist starting with Glutton for Pleasure especially as it's written in the same universe.

What can I say? It's her first published work, so the quality is nowhere near her latest, Hate to Want You. It's straight off erotica instead of erotic romance, so while Devi is a lovely tease of a potentiality awesome character, Jace and Marcus are mostly cardboard. Some good moments, but shaky at best.


* * *

Честно, купила " Жадную до Удовольствия" из-за того, что прочитала последнюю книгу Алишы Рай запоем. Книга эта - ее первый блин и как видно, комом. Ну, первая изданная книга; со стилем и уверенностью пера она еще здесь не сообразилась, и это очень видно.

Дэви - хорошенькая героиня, и в проблесках ее жизни чувствуется большой потенциал. А вот Джейс и Маркус совсем картонные. Да и жанр здесь - чистая эротика вместо эротического романа. Советовать не буду, но и отпугивать не хочу.

November Book Releases I'm Dying to Read!


So many heavy hitters released this month!!! Midnight Labyrinth is AMAZING! Michael's Wings is lovely, and I am beyond excted to read Fence from C.S. Pacat!

What are you waiting for in November?

Fantasy Romance Early Review: The Sea King by C.L. Wilson

The Sea King by C. L. Wilson (Weathermages of Mystral #2)


egalley courtesy of Avon

Synopsis from Goodreads
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Winter King comes a breathtaking new tale of love and adventure set in the mystical land of Mystral...

He wasn't supposed to choose her...

Seafaring prince Dilys Merimydion has been invited to court the three magical princesses of Summerlea. To eradicate the pirates threatening Calberna and to secure the power of the Sea Throne, Dilys vows to return home with a fierce warrior-queen as his bride. But politics has nothing to do with unexpected temptation.

She didn't dare wed him...

A weathermage like her sisters, Gabriella Coruscate's gentleness exemplifies the qualities of her season name, Summer. Yet her quiet poise conceals dangerous powers she cannot begin to wield. Better to live without excitement, she reasons, than risk her heart and lose control— until an irresistible Sealord jolts her awake with a thunderclap of raw desire.

Until evil threatens everything they hold dear...

When pirates kidnap Summer and her sisters, Dilys is in a desperate quest to save the woman he loves. Only by combining his command of the seas with the unleashed fury of Summer's formidable gifts can they defeat their brutal enemies and claim the most priceless victory of all: true love.


Release date: Oct 31st, 2017.

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8.5/10

* * *
 Not for the first time I've noticed the similarities between C.L. Wilson's writing and Ann Bishop's Black Jewels series.

They both have rich world-building with main characters who are often damaged physically and psychologically, and who, at some point, face an unspeakable evil to only come out of the encounter stronger and more savage.

Friday Mini Reviews #106: Roshani Chokshi, C.L. Wilson & Julia Kent




The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi (The Star-Touched Queen #1)

bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads
Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

7/10

The prose is interesting, but uneven. I listened to it on audio, and while some parts held me captivated, others I couldn't care less about. This is a classic myth where a girl is repeatedly told not to do something specific so she can continue to live her charmed life, and when her curiosity wins, she loses the person she loves, then sets off on a quest to get them back.

While I didn't care much for the wishy-washy pre-quest romance as the characters weren't doing it for me, Maya found her spine after starting her journey, and some of the secondary characters ( like Kamala) spiced things up considerably.

Verdict: not bad, but not sure if i want to continue.

                                                                      * * *

Интересная, но неровная проза. Я эту книгу слушала на аудио и где-то заслушивалась, а где-то пропускала мимо ушей. Это классическая сказка, в которой героине запрещено что-то специфически, иначе она потеряет свою заговоренную жизнь. Правило это она нарушает и теряет свою любовь. Теперь ей нужно пройти испытания и исправить совершенную ошибку, чтобы его вернуть.

До квеста Майя и Амар меня совершенно не вставляли. Какие-то они были деревянные и приторно-сладкие. А вот как Майя начала свое путешествие, она нашла в себе несгибаемую волю, да и сделать ее более интересной помогла ее помощница и шикарнейшая второстепенная героиня - Камала.

Вердикт: не все так плохо, но читать продолжение не хочу.


 Lord of The Fading Lands by C.L. Wilson (Tairen Soul #1)

bought

Synopsis from Goodreads

Once he drove back the darkness.
Once he loved with such passion his name was legend.

Once, driven wild with grief over the murder of his beloved, the majestic Fey King Rain Tairen Soul had laid waste to the world before vanishing into the Fading Lands. Now, a thousand years later, a new threat draws him back into the world—and a new love reawakens the heart he thought long dead.

Ellysetta, a woodcarver’s daughter, calls to Rain in a way no other ever had. Mysterious and magical, her soul beckons him with a compelling, seductive song—and no matter the cost, the wildness in his blood will not be denied.

As an ancient, familiar evil regains its strength, causing centuries-old alliances to crumble and threatening doom for Rain and his people... he must claim his truemate to embrace the destiny woven for them both in the mists of time.
 


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

7.5/10
  
You know why this book gets a lower rating? It does one of the worst things a book can do to me: finishes mid-sentence, metaphorically speaking. Someone somewhere along the line decided it was a good idea to simply split one book in two and sell two instead of one. Yeah, it didn't cut it!

Otherwise, it's a fascinating setting and characters strongly reminiscent of the ones from Black Jewels series by Ann Bishop. I want to read more, but I am pretty miffed at the same time...

                                                                      * * *

Знаете, я занизила оценку этой книги по одной причине - она фигурально заканчивается на полуслове. Такое впечатление, что у кого-то в издательстве появилась гениальная идея из одной книги сделать две , вот ее и поделили безо всякой обработки...

А так, очень интересное построение мира и герои, сильно напоминающие персонажей из серии Черные Драгоценности от Энн Бишоп. Чертовски раздражена концовкой, поэтому не знаю когда куплю продолжение.



Random Acts of Fantasy by Julia Kent (Random #3)

ecopy from the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
You ever really think that you'll win the lottery? Meet Mr. Right? How about two Mr. Rights?

Somehow the universe is handing me everything I want (except for that lottery part...), and I don't like it. Not one little bit. Because just when you get all your dreams handed to you on a silver platter, that's when an airplane dumps its sewage on your house. Or your mama's diabetes takes a bad turn. Or your mobile phone gets stuck in your hoohaw.

(What? It happens…)

Boring old average me got everything I wanted already, moving from small-town Ohio to big-city Boston to follow my heart. So when the fancy invitation offering me a pile of money to come with the band, Random Acts of Crazy, to perform on an island resort and be their manager arrived, I thought it was a cosmic joke. Enough money to help my mama get what she needed, five days in sunny paradise, and a shot at greatness for the band? Unreal. One big shoe was waiting to drop. On my head.

Just like no one really ever finds a naked man wearing only a guitar standing by the side of the road hitchhiking and ends up falling in love with him and his friend and moving halfway across the country for true love, no one gets an invitation to come to what turns out to be a resort where people make what me and Joe and Trevor do together look like a chaste peck on the cheek. But...

Well.

I guess these things do happen.

To me.
  

Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

6/10

Well, what can I say? This is a short story from miss Kent involving her usual cringeworthy and at the same time hilarious slapstick humour. Random Acts of Crazy are invited to play on a private island which, surprise surprise!, is a kinky sex resort. Darla, Trevor and Joe finally solve some issues in their relationship and move on to the next level. It's funny, chaotic and very, very silly. Recommended for a light read.
                                                          * * *
Ну, что я могу сказать? Это короткая повесть от мисс Кент, полная характерной для нее смеси пошлого, туалетного юмора, от которого временами перекашивает. Случайные Акты Сумасшествия приглашены играть, сюрприз сюрприз! на элитный секс курорт. Дарла, Тревор и Джо наконец решают проблемы в их отношениях и выходят на новый уровень. Смешно, хаотично и дурачливо. Рекомендую если хочется чего-то очень легкого и с каким-то подростковым юмором.


Fantasy Romance Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas


 A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)


bought on audio

Synopsis from Goodreads

Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.
 


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8.5/10

* * *
By now it's easy to see a pattern in Miss Maas' heroines. They fall in love with the wrong person on their first try. They fall for self-righteous, pompous jerks with a bad temper. Chaol, anyone? Tamlin? I'm not sure I approve of this pattern, especially, after the sacrifices made by the heroine.

Erotic Romance Review: Sex Love Repeat by Alessandra Torre

Sex Love Repeat by Alessandra Torre


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
In Malibu, I sleep late in our worn out bed. Dance to Bob Marley in the sand. Find love and peace in Paul's arms.

In Hollywood, I drink champagne and watch our chef fix dinner. I visit Stewart at work and let him take me on top of his desk.

Two separate lives. Two separate men. A woman that watched us all.

I should have known that it wouldn't work out.


 
Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository 



8/10

* * *
This was my first Alessandra Torre book, and it won't be the last. She's got soul, she's got balls, and she has a raw integrity which takes a plotline that could have made me roll my eyes in exasperation with a lesser writer, and makes it touching and meaningful.

Historical Romance Review: Lady Be Good by Meredith Duran

Lady Be Good by Meredith Duran (Rules for the Reckless #3)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
The third searing novel in the Rules for the Reckless series by Meredith Duran, the USA Today bestselling author of sexy and evocative Regency romances in the tradition of Sarah MacLean.

Catching the Lady Red-Handed

Born to a family of infamous criminals, Lilah Marshall has left behind her past and made herself into the perfect lady. Working as a hostess at Eveleigh's, London’s premier auction house, she leads a life full of art, culture, and virtue. All her dreams are within reach—until a gorgeous and enigmatic viscount catches her in the act of one last, very reluctant theft.

Chasing One Red-Hot Passion

Christian “Kit” Stratton, Viscount Palmer, is society's most dashing war hero. But Kit’s easy smiles hide a dark secret: he is haunted by a madman’s vow to destroy anyone he loves. When his hunt for the enemy leads to Everleigh’s Auction Rooms, he compels Lilah to help him. But one tempting touch may be their undoing—for what Kit needs threatens all Lilah holds dear, and losing her may destroy Kit.
 


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

9/10

* * *
 God, I loved this book so much! I haven't read a historical for awhile, and to stumble on such little gem was everything.

Why read this one? you'd ask.

The heroine is a total badass who does not take mansplaining kindly. A former thief determined to climb out of the gutter and onto the social ladder, Lilah Marshall works as a hostess in an auction house where she manipulates guests with her refined accent, easy smiles and witty flirtations.

Urban Fantasy Novel Review: Wildfire by Ilona Andrews

Wildfire by Ilona Andrews (Hidden Legacy #3)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
Just when Nevada Baylor has finally come to accept the depths of her magical powers, she also realizes she’s fallen in love. Connor “Mad” Rogan is in many ways her equal when it comes to magic, but she’s completely out of her elements when it comes to her feelings for him. To make matters more complicated, an old flame comes back into Rogan’s life…

Rogan knows there’s nothing between him and his ex-fiance, Rynda Sherwood. But as Nevada begins to learn more about her past, her power, and her potential future, he knows she will be faced with choices she never dreamed of and the promise of a life spent without him.

As Nevada and Rogan race to discover the whereabouts of Rynda’s kidnapped husband and are forced to confront Nevada’s grandmother, who may or may not have evil motives, these two people must decide if they can trust in each other or allow everything to go up in smoke.
 


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

9.5/10

* * *
One thing for sure, I'll be re-reading this in the near future as I gulped it down way too fast instead of savouring.

Explosive. Snarky. Poignant. Exhilarating. These are just some of the suitable epitomes for Ilona Andrews' books. I honestly can't get enough of them, and this series is one of the finest in urban fantasy, from my point of view.

Contemporary Romance Review: Beard in Mind by Penny Reid

Beard in Mind by Penny Reid (Winston Brothers #4)


ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
All's fair in love and auto maintenance.


Beau Winston is the nicest, most accommodating guy in the world. Usually.
Handsome as the devil and twice as charismatic, Beau lives a charmed life as everyone’s favorite Winston Brother. But since his twin decided to leave town, and his other brother hired a stunning human-porcupine hybrid as a replacement mechanic for their auto shop, Beau Winston’s charmed life has gone to hell in a handbasket.


Shelly Sullivan is not nice and is never accommodating. Ever.
She mumbles to herself, but won’t respond when asked a question. She glares at everyone, especially babies. She won’t shake hands with or touch another person, but has no problems cuddling with a dog. And her damn parrot speaks only in curse words.


Beau wants her gone. He wants her out of his auto shop, out of Tennessee, and out of his life.


The only problem is, learning why this porcupine wears her coat of spikes opens a Pandora’s box of complexity—exquisite, tempting, heartbreaking complexity—and Beau Winston soon discovers being nice and accommodating might mean missing out on what matters most.


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK

8.5/10

* * *
 I'll be honest with you, peeps. Cletus and Jennifer's shennanigans was a very tough act to follow, and it didn't help that the timeline of Beard in Mind was overlapping the events of Beard Science.

Saying all that, Beau's book has a less comedic vibe and takes on a very serious, heartbreaking issue of mental illness very well. I loved and appreciated that.

Erotic Romance Review: Team Player by Cate Ellink

Team Player by Cate Ellink


Egalley courtesy of Escape Publishing

Synopsis from Goodreads
She’s never been shy about what she wants – and now she wants them both...

Hannah Maynard, sports reporter, is sure it’s only her lust-filled fantasies linking Australian rugby league captain, Charlie Maxxin, with relative newcomer, Lyle Smythe-Jones. She and Charlie have shared quite a few steamy sessions over the years, so surely he’s not in a relationship with the young, unflappable player she’s dubbed Marble Boy?

Hannah lures Charlie to dinner and his reaction is all the answer she needs. But she doesn’t want to report on the biggest secret in Australian sport – she wants to take part. However, it’s not just Charlie’s decision and it can’t be just casual. If Hannah wants in, she has to be all in, with Lyle, with Charlie, and with the hottest action any of them have ever experienced.


Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

5/10

* * *

Right, I'm going to try and be short explaining why this didn't work for me.

You know that I review plenty of erotic romances exploring topics of MMF/MFM relationship? I hope the experience gave me an understanding that this kind of dynamics can be tricky to pull off, and I can count the authors who managed to do it on one hand. Unfortunately, Miss Ellink isn't one of them.

Paranormal Fantasy Review: The Silent by Elizabeth Hunter

The Silent by Elizabeth Hunter (Irin Chronicles #5)


ecopy thanks to the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
They are called kareshta, the silent ones.
But the silent are waking.

Kyra has lived her life in the shadow of a powerful Grigori brother. She’s ignored her own desires for the good of her family, but an unexpected request from Thailand sends her on a mission that could change her life and alter the fate of free Grigori all over the world. Sons of the Fallen hidden in the mountains of Thailand have adapted an ancient human magic for their own purposes. Will this practice bring peace or lead to even greater danger for the Irin race?

A simple diplomatic mission sends Leo to Bangkok, but he didn’t expect to see a familiar face in surveillance photographs. He’s tried everything to drive Kyra from his mind, since he was convinced the gentle kareshta wanted to hide from the world. How did she turn up halfway across the globe, living with Grigori who may or may not be Irin allies?

Leo has bided his time. He’s given Kyra her space.

But this scribe is ready to hear a kareshta sing.

THE SILENT is a romantic fantasy, and the fifth book in the Irin Chronicles series.
 


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8.5/10

* * *
 The Silent is an intriguing read as it expands the Irin mythology considerably.

I love how things stopped being black and white. Not all Grigori are evil, some choose to fight their nature and protect their sisters, kareshta.

Not all kareshta are meek and helpless. Some fought the tide of madness and won, others succumbed to it and went dark.

Dystopian Fiction Audiobook Review: The Sunlight Pilgrims by Jenni Fagan

The Sunlight Pilgrims by Jenni Fagan



audiocopy courtesy of Audible Studios

Synopsis from Goodreads
Set in a Scottish caravan park during a freak winter – it is snowing in Jerusalem, the Thames is overflowing, and an iceberg separated from the Fjords in Norway is expected to arrive off the coast of Scotland – THE SUNLIGHT PILGRIMS tells the story of a small Scottish community living through what people have begun to think is the end of times. Bodies are found frozen in the street with their eyes open, euthanasia has become an acceptable response to economic collapse, schooling and health care are run primarily on a voluntary basis. But daily life carries on: Dylan, a refugee from panic-stricken London who is grieving for his mother and his grandmother, arrives in the caravan park in the middle of the night – to begin his life anew.

Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository
 


6/10

* * *
 I am actually torn about this book.

On one hand, the writing is beautiful, no question about it. It's introspective, meditative, poetic. The characters are fascinating and lovingly drawn. The atmosphere reminded me of The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker.

Paranormal Romance Review: Kato by D.B. Reynolds

Kato by D.B. Reynolds (Stone Warriors #2)


Egalley courtesy of ImaJinn Books

Synopsis from Goodreads
It was a time when gods walked the earth, when armies fought not for bits of land, but for the very existence of humanity. On such a battlefield, five formidable warriors stood against an evil greater than any the earth had ever seen. But evil is not an honorable foe. Betrayed by someone they trusted, the warriors were cursed, one by one, tossed into the maelstrom of time, imprisoned in stone, their freedom resting on nearly impossible conditions. Until...

Kato Amadi...born of darkest sorcery, unstoppable on the battlefield, his magic is as deadly as his blade. But not even magic could save him from vicious betrayal. Trapped for millennia in darkness and silence, he is freed at last, only to find himself in the middle of a battle against the very beasts of hell he was created to destroy.

Grace Van Allen is a scholar of ancient languages who toils in the dim recesses of a museum basement with only a beautiful stone warrior to keep her company. But when Grace calls upon her silent warrior to help her translate an obscure new language, she breaks the ancient curse holding him prisoner...and frees three deadly demons to rampage through her city.

Tracking demons is what Kato was born to do, but he’ll need Grace’s help. And when they discover that Kato’s enemy is still alive and still plotting against him, their hunt takes a dangerous turn, one that might just prove fatal for both of them...
 


Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

7.5/10

* * *
 I think I'm jinxed with this series, peeps. I adore D.B.'s Vampires in America series, but I can not buy into romantic lines in Stone Warriors. Love the overall plot, but not the instalove. I far prefer slow burn attraction, but I totally understand that the format of this series dictates otherwise.

Erotic Romance Review: The Red by Tiffany Reisz

The Red by Tiffany Reisz


Egalley thanks to 8th Circle Press

Synopsis from Goodreads
Mona Lisa St. James made a deathbed promise that she would do anything to save her mother's art gallery. Unfortunately, not only is The Red painted red, but it's in the red. She soon realizes she has no choice but to sell it.

Just as she realizes she has no choice but to sell it, a mysterious man comes in after closing time and makes her an offer: He will save The Red if she agrees to submit to him for the period of one year.

The man is handsome, English, and terribly tempting...but surely her mother didn't mean for Mona to sell herself to a stranger. Then again, she did promise to do anything to save The Red...

The Red is a standalone novel of erotic fantasy from Tiffany Reisz, international bestselling author of The Bourbon Thief and the Original Sinners series.


Audible US | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

 8/10

* * *

The Red is complex and intriguing. And it's also not what you think. Somehow it had a feel of old erotic novels, particularly Emmanuelle.

As you may guess, I liked it. Not in the way of The Original Sinners novels, but it had its own niche.

July New Book Releases I'm Dying to Read!

Some awesome releases this month, peeps! I'm reviewing The Red (read and enjoyed) and The Silent (can't wait!), and of course, Wildfire is on pre-order.
How about you? What books are you waiting for?

Erotic Romance Review: By The Hour by Roni Loren

By The Hour by Roni Loren (Pleasure Principle #2)


bought

Synopsis from Goodreads
, Lane Cannon, dares to flirt with her, she shuts him down cold. Too gorgeous. Too cocky. And his job as The Grove’s sexual surrogate is to sleep with patients. No, thank you.

Former escort Lane Cannon has spent enough years with people looking down on him. Stupid. Trailer trash. Rent boy. He’s heard it all. He’s worked too hard to shed his past to let some haughty doctor cut him down. But something about Elle’s ice queen act has his dominant instincts perking up and his body taking notice. He can’t walk away.

After an evening of verbal sparring turns into a night of steamy hate sex, Lane’s ready for round two. But Elle proposes a business deal. How better to keep things strictly physical than to pay him for his services?

Lane wants her, not her money. But he’ll play along in exchange for one thing—all the control. It’s only supposed to be a dirty little fling between colleagues, but these two are about to learn a lesson in love…by the hour.


  Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

8/10

* * *
Dedicated to my friend, B., a closet fan of erotic romance, who keeps pestering me to post another review soon.

I like how you always know where you stand with Roni Loren. She consistently delivers good, complex, thought-provoking characters in subversive, steamy situations.

Paranormal Mystery Novella Release Day Review: A Ghost in the Glamour by Elizabeth Hunter

A Ghost in The Glamour: A Linx & Bogie Story by Elizabeth Hunter


Ecopy from the author

Synopsis from Goodreads
Linx Maxwell’s life is on the verge of greatness. She’s finally graduated from street fairs and hopping chain link to making art that pays the bills. Her family life is… not dull. And it looks like her van might just be able to exist on hope and duct tape.

If only she could get rid of the ghost who’s plagued her since the eighth grade.

Frank Bogle is a detective who lost his life in the line of duty. Everyone on the other side knows that the Maxwell women are the best mediums in the business, but did he have to get attached to the one whose hair had been attacked by a weed wacker?

Frank doesn’t like his afterlife any more than Linx does. He just doesn’t know how to leave.

Linx & Bogie is a stand-alone, short fiction, paranormal series by Elizabeth Hunter, author of the Elemental World, the Irin Chronicles, and the Cambio Springs Mysteries.


Amazon kindle US/UK

8/10

* * *
 
Linx and Bogie's story ended up a surprising mix of light and grave, humorous full-bodied characters and engaging world-building. I gobbled it up in one bite and found it absolutely adorable.

Erotic Romance Novella Review: Obsession by Calista Fox

Obsession by Calista Fox (Bayfront Billionaires #4)


Egalley thanks to St. Martin's Press

Synopsis from Goodreads
100 Shades of Sin...

Delicious and hot, the seductive Bayfront Billionaires need one thing, and one thing only: the woman made for them, the one woman on earth who can complete their trio of passion and desire.

When Roxy Shea arrived in Bayfront, she had no idea she would instantly attract the attention of two of the town’s sexiest and most eligible bachelors. She doesn’t want anything to do with them—with a dangerous past in her rearview mirror, a new relationship would be disastrous. But with every smoldering gaze and unspoken promise of pleasure, these billionaire bad boys are determined to make her theirs, to claim her body and soul.

Nick Faulkner and Hunter Valens are forces in their respective entertainment industries, but a past conflict has put a strain on their lifelong friendship—and vying for the mysterious Roxy’s affection doesn’t help matters. Until their craving for her leads to an explosive night with for threesome. But can they show Roxy that she can trust the men responsible for the sizzling pleasure she finds with them—and that their love is soul-deep?


Amazon kindle US/UK

6/10

* * *
 Oh my god, why did I punish myself and read this author again? We are obviously not suited as I find her flowery style very annoying.

Urban Fantasy Review: White Hot by Ilona Andrews

White Hot by Ilona Andrews (Hidden Legacy #2)


Egalley thanks to Avon

Synopsis from Goodreads
The Hidden Legacy series by #1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews continues as Nevada and Rogan navigate a world where magic is the norm…and their relationship burns hot

Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she's used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family's detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor "Mad" Rogan.

Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada’s “talent.” But there’s no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice …


Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository

9/10

* * *
 
I've devoured this book as soon as I got my grabby hands on a review copy, and then I had to re-read it again because it was simply delicious.

Urban Fantasy Review: Spectacle by Rachel Vincent

Spectacle by Rachel Vincent (Menagerie #2)


Egalley thanks to MIRA

Synopsis from Goodreads
In this riveting sequel to New York Times bestselling author Rachel Vincent's acclaimed novel Menagerie, Delilah Marlow will discover that there is no crueler cage than the confines of the human mind…

When their coup of Metzger's Menagerie is discovered, Delilah and her fellow cryptids find their newly won freedom brutally stripped away as they are sold into The Savage Spectacle, a private collection of "exotic wildlife." Specializing in ruthless cryptid cage matches, safari-style creature hunts and living party favors, the Spectacle's owner, Willem Vandekamp, caters to the forbidden fetishes of the wealthy and powerful. At the Spectacle, any wish can be granted—for the right price.

But Vandekamp's closely guarded client list isn't the only secret being kept at the Spectacle. Beneath the beauty and brutality of life in the collection lie much darker truths, and no one is more determined than Delilah to strip the masks from the human monsters and drag all dark things into the light.



Audible US/UK | Amazon US/UK | Amazon kindle US/UK | Book Depository


 8/10

* * *
 I personally think that Menagerie was a stronger, more coherent read. Spectacle delivers a powerful emotional impact, but the continuity of the plot was compromised and the ending - definitely rushed.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

GFC Followers

If you are a GFC follower please resubscribe by any other method to all the blogs you follow in such way. It is getting discontinued in 2016. You will lose all the blogs you follow gradually so you might not even notice it straightaway.


Subscribe with Feedly

Subscribe with bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

networked blogs

Linky Followers

Facebook Page

Karina on goodreads

Victoria on Goodreads

Subscribe by Email

Victoria on TWITTER

FeedCount

FEEDCOUNT

Followers via Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

BLOG ARCHIVE

grab our button

KARINA IS READING

READING

The Night Circus
Legacy
Gabriel's Inferno
Touch

goodreads.com

Vika is reading

Victoria Reading

The Fault in Our Stars
Spin

goodreads.com

In case of zombie apocalypse

Hey, guys! I feel like I should say this just in case :)
If you'd like to sponsor a fellow book addict who sometimes can't sleep at night worrying that she won't have enough books to read if internet goes down in the event of zombie apocalypse (I'm convinced it's one of the top five ways to go for human race) you can donate through Paypal to olivesandacorns at gmail dot com or buy a book through any of the links provided with my reviews which will send me a small percentage from the sale. All proceeds will go towards my enormous TBR. I will also shelter you on the remote farm in Portugal when zombie apocalypse starts provided you survive getting there. There will be books, yay?
Thank you! Love you all

Book Blogger Directory

Netgalley

Powered by Blogger.

Blog Stats since May 2011

ONLINE GAME TO END HUNGER

Online game to end hunger